All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Subbaraman Vijayalakshmi Arjuna Award Awarded In 2000

Subbaraman Vijayalakshmi

Subbaraman Vijayalakshmi

Award Name : Arjuna Award

Year of Award : 2000

Award for : Sports and Games

Location : Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India


Subbaraman Vijayalakshmi is an Indian chess player who holds the FIDE titles of International Master and Woman Grandmaster, the first female player in her country to achieve these titles. She has won more medals than any other player for India in the Chess Olympiads. She has won almost all national age group titles, including the senior title. He was born on 25 March 1979 in Madras. Her first tournament was the Tal Chess Open in 1986. In 1988 and in 1989 she won the Indian championship in the U10 girls category. Also in the U12 category she won twice. In the Zone tournament in Madras (1995) she finished second. She won the Asian Zone tournament in 1997 in Teheran, and also in 1999 in Mumbai. In 1996 in Kolkata she became Commonwealth women's champion, a title she won again in 2003 in Mumbai. Vijayalakshmi won the Indian Women's Championship in 1995 (Madras), 1996 (Kolkata), 1999 (Kozhikode), 2000 (Mumbai), 2001 (New Delhi) and 2002 (Lakhnau). She took part in the Women's Chess Olympiad with the Indian national team in 1998. At the 34th Chess Olympiad in 2000 in Istanbul she received a silver medal for her performance at board 1, which she repeated in Bled 2002. In 2007 she won the Leonardo di Bona Memorial in Cutro, Italy. 

In 1996 she was awarded the Woman International Master (WIM) title thanks to her result at the FIDE Zonal tournament in Chennai. In 2001 she became the first Indian to achieve the title of Woman Grandmaster (WGM). She also holds the title of International Master (IM), thanks to her results at the Chess Olympiad 2000. She is the first female Indian player to become IM. In 2006 in Kalamaria she achieved a Grandmaster norm, and also in 2007 for her victory in Cutro. In 2001 the Indian government gave her the Arjuna Award.


Arjuna Award Awardeds