All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Gandhi Peace Award

Gandhi Peace Award

Awards Type : InterNational Award

Organized Country : United States

First Award : 1960

The Gandhi Peace Award is an award and cash prize presented annually since 1960 by the US NGO Promoting Enduring Peace to individuals for "contributions made in the promotion of international peace and good will." It is named in honor of Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi but has no explicit connection to Mohandas Gandhi or any other member of the Gandhi family.The 2014 Award was presented to Medea Benjamin on 16 April at the United Church on the Green in New Haven, Connecticut, USA. The Award for 2015 is to be announced during March.

Since 1960, when the first Award was received in person by Eleanor Roosevelt, the Award has been presented to "peace heroes" who, in the view of Promoting Enduring Peace, have exemplified the courage of nonviolent resistance to abusive power, armed conflict, and violent oppression. The Award is also intended to recognize individuals for having made significant contributions, through cooperative and non-violent means in the spirit of Gandhi, to the struggle to achieve a sustainable world civilization founded on enduring international peace.

Award Organized By: Promoting Enduring Peace

Gandhi Peace Award Awarded
Gandhi Peace Award Categories