All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Raghuveer Chaudhari Jnanpith Award Awarded In 2015

Raghuveer Chaudhari

Raghuveer Chaudhari

Award Name : Jnanpith Award

Year of Award : 2015

Award for : Literature

Location : Bābra, Gujarāt, India


Raghuveer Chaudhari is a popular Gujarati writer who has been conferred with the Jnanpith Award 2015, India’s highest literary awards awarded by government of India. He has become the fourth Gujarati writer to receive the prestigious award and he won this award at the age of 77. Earlier he received the Sahitya Akademi Award in 1977, for his novel trilogy Uparvas. A popular novelist, critic and poet, he is a columnist for several leading dailies. Though he is known for his outstanding contributions to Gujarati literature, he has also written Hindi articles. He authored and published more than 80 books. He was born on 5 December 1938 in Bapupura near Gandhinagar, Gujarat into a farmers’ family. His school education was completed at Mansa and later he completed graduation and Masters’ at Gujarat University. In 1979 he received a PhD for his Comparative Study of Hindi and Gujarati Verbal Roots from same university. A member of Navnirman Movement of Gujarat in 1974, he also opposed Emergency Period imposed by Indira Gandhi. He started his professional career in Gujarat University in 1977 as a Hindi lecturer and later retired as a professor in 1998. After retirement he returned to his hometown and got associated with agriculture. He also closely works with Gujarati Sahitya Parishad and has served as its president in 2001.

Chaudhari started his writing career with novels and poetry, and later wrote columns and other forms of literal works. He occasionally writes in Hindi. Uparvas, Sahwas and Antarvas forms his trilogy which earned him numerous awards including Sahitya Akademi Award in 1977. Venu Vatsala, Purvarang, Laagni, Samjyaa Vinaa Chhuta Padavun, Ek Dag Aagal Be Dag Paachhal and Avaran are his noted novel works while Trijo Purush, Sikandar Sani and Dim Light are his plays. Tamasa (1965) and Vaheta Vriksha Pavanma (1985) are his anthology poetry works.