All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Taraprasad Das Padma Shri Awarded In 2013

Taraprasad Das

Taraprasad Das

Award Name : Padma Shri

Year of Award : 2013

Award for : Medical

Location : Bhubaneshwar, Orissa, India


Taraprasad Das is an Indian ophthalmologist, who specializes in diseases of the retina and vitreous membrane. He is currently the Vice-Chairman of the L.V.Prasad Eye Institute. He is professor of ophthalmology at the Sun Yet-sen University of Medical Sciences in Guangzhou, China. He was born on 1 April 1950 in Odisha. Taraprasad Das received his basic medical education in Sambalpur University, Orissa, and completed his postgraduate training in ophthalmology at the Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education and Research (JIPMER), Pondicherry, and at Aravind Eye Hospital, Madurai.    He worked as retina faculty in Aravind Eye Hospital, Madurai before joining the L V Prasad Eye Institute, Hyderabad in 1990. He has an international reputation as a retinal surgeon. He has published more than 180 papers in international and national journals, written 37 book chapters, and authored/ edited 8 books. He was editor of the Indian Journal of Ophthalmology from 1999 to 2004. He was conferred Doctorate of Science (Honoris Causa) by Ravenshaw University in year 2011. The Government of India honoured him with the Padma Shri award in 2013.