All educational Awards,national educational awards,international educational awards in ...


Tripuraneni Hanuman Chowdary Padma Shri Awarded In 2017

Tripuraneni Hanuman Chowdary

Tripuraneni Hanuman Chowdary

Award Name : Padma Shri

Year of Award : 2017

Award for : Civil Service

Location : Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India


Chowdary, Hanuman Tripuraneni was born on October 18, 1931 in Boothimillipadu, India. Son of Technology Balarama Krishnaiah and T. Venkata Ramanamma. He did bachelor of Engineering in Telecomms., College Engineering, Madras, 1952. Doctor of Philosophy (honoris causa), Jawaharlal Nehru Technology University, Hyderabad, 1999. He initiated the restructuring of the DOT, first by its separation from the Posts and constituting the operations into corporations. He had canvassed these reforms, among Members of Parliament, Ministers and State Governments. He was the first and founding Chairman and Managing Director of Videsh Sanchar Nigam Limited (VSNL), India’s International Telecommunications Corporation. He founded the Center for Telecommunications Management and Studies (CTMS), in 1989, as a not-for-profit-society to wage the intellectual campaign for demonopolisation of and competition in Indian telecoms. He wrote the draft National Telecom Policy (NTP), as early as in 1989. The NTP of 1994, is more or less the same that he put forward in 1989.Dr. Tripuraneni Hanuman Chowdary is Independent Non-Executive Director at Tera Software Ltd., Independent Non-Executive Director at SoftSol India Ltd., Independent Non-Executive Director at Sify Technologies Ltd., Chairman at Pragna Bharati, and Senior Member at The Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers, Inc. He is on the Board of Directors at Tera Software Ltd., SoftSol India Ltd., Sify Technologies Ltd., Center for Telecommunications Management & Studies, and Energy Leader Batteries India Pvt Ltd. Dr. Chowdary was previously employed as Chairman by Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, President by The Institute of Electronics & Telecommunication Engineers, Chief Executive Officer by Tata Communications Ltd., and a Member-Governs Board by American Studies Research Center. He was awarded Padma Shri by the President of India in the year 2017.